[]
[]

The Mushroom Hunters

On the Trail of An Underground America

Cook, Langdon

(Book - 2013)
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
The Mushroom Hunters
Print
In the tradition of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma, Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky's Cod --a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world's most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature's last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom. Within the dark corners of America's forests grow culinary treasures. Chefs pay top dollar to showcase these elusive and beguiling ingredients on their menus. Whether dressing up a filet mignon with smoky morels or shaving luxurious white truffles over pasta, the most elegant restaurants across the country now feature an abundance of wild mushrooms. nbsp; The mushroom hunters, by contrast, are a rough lot. They live in the wilderness and move with the seasons. Motivated by Gold Rush desires, they haul improbable quantities of fungi from the woods for cash. Langdon Cook embeds himself in this shadowy subculture, reporting from both rural fringes and big-city eateries with the flair of a novelist, uncovering along the way what might be the last gasp of frontier-style capitalism. nbsp; Meet Doug, an ex-logger and crabber--now an itinerant mushroom picker trying to pay his bills and stay out of trouble; and Jeremy, a former cook turned wild food entrepreneur, crisscrossing the continent to build a business amid cutthroat competition; their friend Matt, an up-and-coming chef whose kitchen alchemy is turning heads; and the woman who inspires them all. nbsp; Rich with the science and lore of edible fungi--from seductive chanterelles to exotic porcini-- The Mushroom Hunters is equal parts gonzo travelogue and culinary history lesson, a rollicking, character-driven tour through a world that is by turns secretive, dangerous, and tragically American. Praise for The Mushroom Hunters nbsp; "A rollicking narrative . . . Cook [delivers] vivid and cinematic scenes on every page." -- The Wall Street Journal " The Mushroom Hunters lends fresh, sharp illumination to a little-known but vigorously contested patch of gastronomic turf. . . . [It's an] entertaining ramble through the woods with a group of ragtag characters." -- The Washington Post "Like Susan Orlean in The Orchid Thief, Seattle author [Langdon] Cook shines a light on a shady subculture operating at the seam between wilderness and commerce. Like author Michael Pollan, he knows that every bite of food these days has a complex, often unsavory backstory. Like the late Hunter Thompson, he not only goes along for the ride with the shifty characters he's writing about, but drives the getaway car. After reading The Mushroom Hunters, you'll never look at a portobello the same way. . . . [A] beguiling, surprising book." -- The Seattle Times nbsp; "Not simply about mushrooms, this book examines human behavior, economics, food, society, and nature. In the end, readers will have learned a great deal about U.S. economic and social structures--all while being entertained and enlightened by stories of gastronomy and mushrooms. Highly recommended." -- Library Journal nbsp; "Intrepid and inspired." -- Publishers Weekly nbsp; "Uncultivated mushrooms are one of our last truly wild foods; it often takes truly wild and rough mushroom hunters to bring them to our table. Cook travels and hunts with them in a riveting, crazy undertaking, told in often-poetic prose." -- Shelf Awareness
Publisher: New York :, Ballantine Books,, [2013]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 0345536258
9780345536259
Branch Call Number: 579.6 COOK
Characteristics: xviii, 296 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

WINNER
Intrepid writer, naturalist and foodie Langdon Cook takes us along on his journey into the often secretive world of mushroom gatherers and dealers on the West Coast. Cook is marvelous company--bright, inquisitive, and up for an adventure. This revealing volume is part memoir, part social ... Read More »


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I was never able to download the mushroom hunters on my kindle fire.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app03 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52