Warcross

Warcross

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu?when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn't just a game?it's a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships?only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation. Convinced she's going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game's creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year's tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika's whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she's only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire. In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.
Publisher: [New York] : Penguin Young Readers Group, 2017
ISBN: 9780399547980
0399547983
Characteristics: 1 online resource ()
Alternative Title: War cross

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LoganLib_Kirra Dec 05, 2017

Warcross transports you to a virtual reality that is refreshingly different to other books with it revolving around a worldwide game that is similar to 'capture the flag' but with constantly changing landscapes, different skill sets for each player and power-ups that can give a team a huge advantage over another. This book was a stunning, impressive and fast paced story weaved in with endless mystery and intrigue. 

k
KatG1983
Nov 22, 2017

I really liked the premise of the book (even if the game played in it is just a technologically advanced version of capture the flag); but felt the execution was off. The ending was rushed, and the moral conflict barely addressed. I suppose it's something the author wants to explore in book 2, but it felt like there was a lost opportunity here. In any case, it was a fine quick read, and I did like the protagonist... but it felt lacking in general.

s
samrouthier
Nov 21, 2017

When I picked this book I felt much the same as the commenters. It sounded like a typical YA with well used tropes but within the first chapter I realized that I really liked Emika. I really liked all the characters. I'm looking forward to the next book. If you are a gamer girl you will like it. It's a fun short read, and a nice break between heavier books.

Beatricksy Oct 16, 2017

Feels manipulative beneath its colorful lights, being just a standard YA pile of tropes about exotic boys with accents and "unique" (eg, rainbow-hair'd) girls that are good at being damsel-y when the plot requires it. Other than the main two protagonists, the cast is forgettable, and the ramifications of immersive virtual reality are not addressed until the final ten pages of the book (and clumsily, at that). Predictable and sloggy, with bursts of entertainment but mostly verging on fetishistic Japanese nonsense. I WAS going to rag on the video game itself for being little more than a capture the flag game that somehow gets ALL the attention, but then my sister reminded me that Overwatch exists, so. I guess that part's not too far fetched.

PinesandPrejudice Oct 03, 2017

This book took me forever it get through. It was super predictable and trope-y and just not my thing. Also, it was not as advertised. This book is not an adventure story, it's a love story. And I wasn't interested in the love story. It felt forced and I knew Hideo was shifty from the start.

What I did like was the game. Warcross was super cool but there wasn't nearly enough of it in the book. Sure, the tournament was great and the Dark World was awesome but I wanted more of the game itself. It was all conspiracy theory and messed up romance, just not what I expected and not in a good way. Which sucks because I love Marie Lu's Legend trilogy but i disliked The Young Elites. So I guess she is a hit or miss author for me.

I am sad I didn't like this book cause I really wanted to. It just felt like Hunger Games and Ready Player One had a super YA trope-y baby.

j
jennydreadful
Sep 29, 2017

I really thought I was going to love this book based on the premise alone, but it disappointed on every level. Everything about this story was predictable, bland, contrived, and forgettable. The relationships and interactions between characters always felt forced while the lead, Emika, was just a really boring person. I pushed through to the end, hoping the whole time that I would become immersed in the story somewhere along the way. Unfortunately it just never drew me in. I cannot believe this is the same author of the Legend series (which was just amazing). Do yourself a favor and read something like Ready Player One instead.

m
MelissaYAReader
Sep 28, 2017

This book would be great for fans of Ready Player One and Armada by Ernest Cline. I loved the geek factor and the science fiction. The story includes hackers, VR, and computer gaming and is fast paced with action, danger, and a little bit of romance. Emika is a character who has led a rough life, who you want to cheer for. I loved this book.

AL_SHEENA Sep 27, 2017

Warcross is an engrossing story revolving around a spirited and likeable heroine. The story submerges the reader into a world of virtual reality and obsession with the game Warcross. Emika Chen finds herself playing in the game of the year while secretly investigating for the games mysterious creator. My only complaint would be that the book ends abruptly in obvious expectation of a sequel.

t
Tauriel
Sep 22, 2017

The book follows the story of a colorful, tattooed girl named Emika Chen. She's fallen on hard times, and after some extreme hacking, finds herself in the virtual arena. From then on, Emika learns about Hideo Tanaka, creator of the game Warcross, the teams, and a mysterious hacker.

I personally enjoyed this book very much. It reminded me a little of the Legend series (Maire Lu) and Ready Player One (Ernest Cline). It is part of a series, not a stand-alone novel. Emika's background is important, and her character development has been well-written so far.
I do feel that the public-obssessed-with-the-virtual-world book type has been variations on a theme, though. There isn't anything truly special about this book, but it is definitely a good read. I was up late reading it, but unless it was a gift, I wouldn't necessarily buy it. It's a good library book, and it is good, and I'm not degrading it in any way. Marie Lu writes good stuff. :)

Out of 10 (With 1 being bad plot, bad characters, etc. and 10 being absolutely amazing,) I would give this book a sold 8. It has good characters and good development, but some of the plot is, as I said before, variations on a theme. Like with a few other novels/series about video games that deal with code (Such as "Hex") I find it difficult to think about visualizations of code lines streaming into space for too long, but that doesn't detract from the story, and if you really enjoy this genre, then I can understand how this book would be a treat.

Also, it has a cool cover! Partly why I chose it was because of the cover and I have read most of Lu's books.

I'm not going to talk about whether or not the plot was (un)predictable, because that may be spoilers to some readers.

It was good, overall, and an enjoyable read. I recommend it!
~Tauriel

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top