Bloom

Bloom

Graphic Novel - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
1
"Baked with love! Now that high school is over, Ari is dying to move to the big city with his ultra-hip band--if he can just persuade his dad to let him quit his job at their struggling family bakery. Though he loved working there as a kid, Ari cannot fathom a life wasting away over rising dough and hot ovens. But while interviewing candidates for his replacement, Ari meets Hector, an easygoing guy who loves baking as much as Ari wants to escape it. As they become closer over batches of bread, love is ready to bloom...that is, if Ari doesn't ruin everything."--Page [2] of cover.
Publisher: New York, NY : First Second, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781250196910
1250196914
9781626726413
1626726418
Characteristics: 351 pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Ganucheau, Savanna - Illustrator

Opinion

From Library Staff

recommended by Melody Leung

Read and recommended by Charlie.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
forbesrachel Oct 09, 2019

Delicate, and moving, Bloom is the coming-of-age story of a young man named Ari who is seeking something more in life, and of Hector, who is looking to find more stability. On his own, Ari struggles to realize that his dream may not in fact be his dream, and that his dissatisfaction at working at his parent's bakery may stem from factors other than disliking the job. On his own, Hector has sought a bit of solitude after the loss of his grandma and a failed relationship. Then when meet, they bloom. Hector's passion for baking, and maturity captures the heart of Ari, while, Ari's cute awkwardness and earnest nature, attracts Hector's. This graphic novel slowly builds their bond, and some last minute drama tests it, but there is also a good amount of time spent on their relationships with friends and family.... and also baking. The illustrator draws moments of baking in a sensory style. These are wordless moments, where panels lose their box-like forms to flow and elicit the sense of a shared blissful moment. This is just one of those heartwarming reads that stays with you.

n
nbartos
Sep 16, 2019

Cute graphic novel with boys who bake. It had pretty good diversity, and the character arc for the main character was complex and worked really well.

lgbtq rep: main romance between two boys; gay ex-boyfriend as side character

KHCPL_Doug Aug 30, 2019

A beautifully told story about finding yourself in the least expected places--at home. Although it is a coming out story, the narrative doesn't belabor the point. Instead, Ari's story unfolds naturally as his friendship with Hector blooms, and his old life changes as he and his friends transition from young adults to adults. The art is incredible, although I wish they'd used a pallet other than just the blues (it felt almost depressing in areas) and Ari is drawn almost feminine at times. But it's the art that tells so much of the story and draws you in. A sincere, heart-warming story about young life and love that is well worth the read.

s
SWISHERRILEY
Jul 23, 2019

A great story that shows off different types of relationships beautifully. From modern day best friends who say 'I love you' on repeat, to parent and children relationships that are filled with tension, it's a great read. The only reason it doesn't have a perfect score in my book is that there are some scene transitions that caught me a little too off guard, making me feel like I skipped an important scene and had me flipping back to make sure the pages weren't stuck together.

g
gjfricano
Jul 15, 2019

Bloom was a surprisingly tender read and definitely spoke to my love of baked goods. Relatable story of a business-owner's son trying to find his own identity and way of life, and very well told.

m
mclarjh
Jun 24, 2019

Unlikeable protagonist, weak story, boundary issues, immature theme; for teens or preteens.

taereads Jun 16, 2019

This was so sweet and wholesome, and the main characters were great and flawed and relatable. I wanted more after I'd finished it!

w
wheelerkay
Jun 14, 2019

when i was done reading it i was bummed that the book was over. i really enjoyed reading it. it is suuuuper good.

vm510 Jun 10, 2019

Very sweet and touching, perfect for fans of This One Summer and other YA graphic novels with sensitive characters. I loved the baking aspect of the story.

k
Kristen MERKE
May 06, 2019

Heartwarming narrative, beautiful art and overall just a fantastic graphic novel.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
k
Kristen MERKE
May 06, 2019

Kristen MERKE thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top