Nothing to See Here

Nothing to See Here

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
36
1
Lillian and Madison were unlikely, yet inseparable friends at their boarding school. Then Lillian had to leave the school unexpectedly in the wake of a scandal, and they have barely spoken since. Years later, Lillian gets a letter from Madison pleading for her help. Madison's twin stepkids are moving in, and she wants Lillian to be their caretaker. However, there's a catch: the twins spontaneously combust when they get agitated. Lillian is convinced Madison is pulling her leg, but it's the truth. Thinking of the life that has consistently disappointed her, Lillian figures she has nothing to lose. Over the course of one demanding summer, Lillian and the twins learn to trust each other while also staying out of the way of Madison's uptight husband. Surprised by her intense feelings of protectiveness she feels for them, Lillian ultimately begins to accept that she needs these strange children as much as they need her. Could this be the start of the amazing life she'd always hoped for?
Publisher: New York : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2019.
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780062913463
0062913468
9780062913494
0062913492
Characteristics: 254 pages ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Lillian, an aimless young woman receives a surprising request from an estranged friend. She asks Lillian to nanny her kids for a summer while she campaigns with her politician husband. The catch: the kids spontaneously combust. A peculiar, entertaining, and insightful book about the hazards of c... Read More »

...in which two kids have the power to burst into flame....

“A funny, snarky narrator takes on the job of caretaker for kids with remarkable and strange abilities. Everyone involved learns that sometimes all we need after being repeatedly let down is someone to rely on. For fans of Chuck Klosterman and Gary Shteyngart.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Libr... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
jmotzer
Jan 01, 2021

Hilarious and emotionally engaging. Lillian, the book's narrator, is the wise-crackingest voice since Holden Caufield. So many lines in the book stopped me dead in my tracks. I re-read them several times to luxuriate in their inventiveness and unvarnished honestly. I'm a guy so maybe I shouldn't go here, but the New York Times reviewer, a woman, also said, it's amazing that a male writer could create such a believable female narrator. This has my highest recommendation.

n
njkstl
Dec 31, 2020

Laurie recommendation.

s
ScorchingSun
Dec 19, 2020

A smart, wisecracking but emotionally lost woman leads a sad existence.
Sombre and introspective. Some flashes of wacko humour.
--------------------
BTW, in the cover picture: I don't believe the character there is doing a Marilyn Monroe subway grate skirt-fluttering imitation.

Gr33nbird Dec 18, 2020

Clever, with quirky characters, wry humor, and just the right amount of tenderness. Great for a plane ride or if you just want to forget about life for a while.

p
ppisciotta
Dec 10, 2020

Easy reading, not really that interesting. ***

c
C_reads
Nov 15, 2020

Loved this book and laughed out loud and cried. Everyone should read this book

s
sess430
Oct 05, 2020

Compulsively readable, outrageously funny book with a sweet ending. Recommended!

s
shelbytoren
Sep 30, 2020

I did not expect to like this as much as I did! Although this book does have an element of magical realism, it is a surprisingly minor part of the book. It is much more about the relationships between the characters and ended up being very heartfelt. I think this would appeal to a lot of readers.

f
Fuzzy_Slippers
Sep 24, 2020

A much deeper story than I was expecting! I had a hard time putting the book down and was intrigued the entire time!

s
Sepi_
Sep 08, 2020

Not the ending I was hoping for, but couldn't put the book down. Let's give it a credit for that.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
ArapahoeStaff26 Jan 06, 2020

And if I'd driven to the basket right then, I would have hit an easy layup, but I let her recover. I drove and then did my... And when Madison felt that pressure from me, that movement, she turned and ran to the basket, too... I was about to reach it when I felt something hard slam into my face, and all these stars blasted into my head, this stinging pain... 'She hit you in the face,' Bessie said, 'with her elbow.' 'It was an accident, of course,' Madison said. 'shit, I'm sorry, Lillian.'

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top