Warlord

Warlord

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
Someone from the past has the British crown in his sights again, and has proven once before that these threats are not to be taken lightly. This is just the call to duty British-American M16 counterterrorism operative Alex Hawke needs to get back in action -- if the madman doesn't wreak total havoc first.
Publisher: New York : William Morrow, c2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061859311
9780061859298
006185929X
Characteristics: 532 p. : map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
stormy1960
Apr 02, 2017

Cartoonish. Could not get past first 20 pages.

k
Kraut01
Jun 28, 2014

Childish, trite, shallow......anachronistic dialogue and a lickspittle viewpoint redolent of boys own annual novels of the 19th century and just as plausible. This idiot thinks the British empire still exists. I would recommend it highly to any pro-monarchy readers for whom this would be a trip down nostalgia lane. For others, all I can say it was so appallingly bad that I had to read it all the way through to satisfy my masochism. A bit like the movies that are so dreadful they're good

n
nitetraino
Jul 24, 2012

Wow! There is so much action in this novel that at times it gets daunting just to try to keep up. In fact, there may me one too many plots that cause muddling, especially the beginning. The second half of the novel makes up for this big time. Hawke and Stokes are GREAT characters. 9 of 10 stars

m
Matthew412
Jun 04, 2012

Rich lord to the manor born. Friend of kings with the usual sidekicks. Can do no wrong and indispensable to the protection of the realm. Shallow character, and 3rd rate writing. Gave up after 70 pages. Why I even lasted that long !!!!!!!!

BPLNextBestAdults Nov 15, 2011

I always forget how much I enjoy reading Ted Bell’s books, a series featuring the uber-rich young British lord and MI6 counterterrorism operative, Alex Hawke, until I dive into a new one. A killer is targeting the British royal family for assassination, starting years earlier with Charles's uncle, Lord Mountbatten. The author does a chilling job of lacing together the IRA killing of Lord Mountbatten, the great fire at Windsor Castle, the death of Lady Di and Dodi Fayed in the Paris tunnel and assorted Taliban bombings into a fun thriller. Thriller readers looking for a global romp with loads of patriotism and a smart take on modern-day terrorism will be rewarded! “A James Bondish adventure brought up to date... A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top