97 Orchard

97 Orchard

An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

"Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York's immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round." -- Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World

97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits--shopping, cooking, and eating--of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray's Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the history of how immigrant food became American food; and "foodies" of every stripe.

Publisher: New York : Smithsonian Books/HarperCollins, c2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061288500
0061288500
Characteristics: xv, 253 p. : ill. ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Ninety-seven Orchard

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
ABluestocking
Jul 07, 2011

Wonderful! Don't read while hungry! Jane Ziegelman doesn't delve too deeply into the lives of the families in the book, just enough to understand the hardships and what each may have gone through to feed their families. Jane gives a great deal of attention to the areas surrounding 97 Orchard and the changing times.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top