The Good Daughters

The Good Daughters

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
The lives and fortunes of two New Hampshire families, the Planks and the Dickersons, are entwined through the youngest daughters of each family, who were born on the same day in the same hospital.
Publisher: New York : William Morrow, c2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061994319
0061994316
Characteristics: 278 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

BPLNextBestAdults Feb 23, 2012

The story is set in New England beginning in the 1950s. Rather predictably, two girls are conceived during a storm, born in the same hospital on the same day. The richness of the story comes from each girl telling their life story in alternating chapters. The families are polar opposites with the Planks being 4th generation farmers and the Dickersons frequently moving to follow the get rich schemes of Mr. Dickerson. Each girl feels a disconnect with her respective family especially during a yearly event that has one mother visiting the other family because of the "birthday sisters". As the years pass, more and more is revealed and the true meaning of "birthday sisters" is revealed. This novel is for fans of family stories and books rich in character . Fans of Jodi Picoult or Kristin Hannah may enjoy this book.

dollfacecrafter Sep 20, 2011

such an awesome book, a great story with wonderful characters, with an ending that leaves you satisfied

rlbecker May 11, 2011

This is a beautiful story with some troubling parts. It deals with two girls born at the same hospital on the same day. The two families seem to be forever intertwined. One of the mothers wants to know what's going on with the other family's child most of the time. Both girls gravitate toward one of the fathers. One daughter who grows up in a stable family is drawn toward being artistic and wants to see the world. The other, who grows up in a dysfuctional family, wants more stability in her life. Some revelations come out, concerning lifestyle, incidents in the past, and finding love. One thing both girls have in common is a love of the farm that the stable family lives on. A final revelation shows how both girls are connected with each other and the stable father. This is a well-written book that keeps the reader off-guard. This would be a great book discussion title. The character development is fabulous and the scenes being set are full of both happiness and joy and much beauty.

s
sixtyfive
Apr 18, 2011

This is a very good read that moves right along with numerous twists and turns which incorporate both the setting and the story.

t
Truffs
Mar 06, 2011

Traces the parallel lives of two girls borm on the same day. A predictible plot that left me quickly skimming through the story.

r
redwallflower
Nov 07, 2010

A short read at under 300 pages, I read this in one sitting. I found that I didn't want to put it down, despite having predicted the major plot twist early on. However, there was a minor twist at the end that I hadn't fully anticipated.

I found that I developed a soft spot for Ruth, Dana and especially Edwin. I felt like I got to know them a little and was invested in their lives and their story.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
WCLS owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top