The King's Daughter

The King's Daughter

A Novel

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The King's Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemaster's Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth, daughter of James I, and her determined efforts to avoid becoming her father's pawn in the royal marriage market.

Publisher: New York : HARPER/HarperCollins Publishers, c2010
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780061976278
006197627X
Characteristics: vii, 468 p. : geneal. table ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Summary

Add a Summary

l
Lisacny3333
Jan 25, 2016

In this groundbreaking novel, award-winning author Sandra Worth vibrantly brings to life the people?s Queen, ?Elizabeth the Good.?

Seventeen-year-old Elizabeth of York trusts that her beloved father?s dying wish has left England in the hands of a just and deserving ruler. But upon the rise of Richard of Gloucester, Elizabeth?s family experiences one devastation after another: her late father is exposed as a bigamist, she and her siblings are branded bastards, and her brothers are taken into the new king?s custody, then reportedly killed.

But one fateful night leads Elizabeth to question her prejudices. Through the eyes of Richard?s ailing queen she sees a man worthy of respect and undying adoration. His dedication to his people inspires a forbidden love and ultimately gives her the courage to accept her destiny, marry Henry Tudor, and become Queen. While her soul may secretly belong to another, her heart belongs to England?

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top